UW-Fox Valley Logo

Using Your Compact Flash Card

INTRODUCTION - USING NIKON'S CARD SLOT - USING FOLDERS WITH THE NIKON
USING CARD READER - FOR MORE INFORMATION


INTRODUCTION

The Nikon CoolPix 5000 uses Type I or II Compact Flash memory cards to store images. Each camera is equipped with a Kingston-brand 128 Megabyte (MB) card. The card is large enough to store anywhere from 50 to 1800 images, depending upon resolution and quality. Compact Flash cards are inexpensive, widely available and range in size from 8 MB to 1 Gigabyte (GB).

Each workstation is equipped with a card reader. You have the ability to remove the card from your camera and insert it directly into the card reader. Your images will instantly be available on your workstation, allowing you to access them in any program you wish to use.

USING NIKON'S CARD SLOT

The slot for the Compact Flash card on the Nikon camera is located on the right-hand side. There is a rectangular door that covers it. Once open you will notice a small square button underneath the card slot, which is the eject button.

To remove a CF card from the camera:

  1. Open the card slot cover.
  2. Press the eject button. The eject button will extend out further than it was originally.
  3. Press the eject button all the way in. It should click back into place.
  4. The memory card will eject just far enough for you to pull it out. There is a little "lip" on the left side of the card to help you pull the card out.
  5. Close the slot cover until you insert the card again.

To insert a CF card into the camera:

  1. Open the card slot cover.
  2. Align the card with the slot, with the "lip" of the card facing left.
    (NOTE: The card will not fully insert if you have it facing the wrong way)
  3. Press the card into the slot firmly.
  4. Close the slot cover.

USING FOLDERS WITH THE NIKON

The Nikon camera has an option which allows you to create folders on your Compact Flash card, to help you organize your images during shooting. By default, all your images will be in a folder labeled "Nikon," but you can specify your own 5-letter folders in which to organize your photos as you shoot. You can also delete and rename folders.

To access the folders menu:

  1. In the Shooting mode, press the Menu button on the Monitor to display the menu.
  2. Using the Multi-Selector arrows, press the left button to allow you to select from the tabs at left.
  3. Press the down arrow until the "S" tab is selected in red, then press the right arrow to enter the Setup menu.
  4. The first option in the Setup menu is "Folders." Right-arrowing to it will give you three options -- New, Rename and Delete.

To create a new folder:

  1. Select "New" from the Folders menu, by pressing the right arrow when it is highlighted.
  2. A five-letter name will appear, with a letter selector over the first letter.
  3. Use the up and down arrows to select the appropriate letter or number. You can also select a blank space, which is useful for folder names less than 5 letters long.
  4. Press the right arrow to move on to the next letter.
  5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 until you have your name set the way you want it.
  6. When you are on the fifth letter and have completed your name, press the right arrow to save your new folder name.

Until another folder is selected or created, your new photos will be saved in the newly-created directory.

To rename a folder:

  1. Select "Rename" from the Folders menu, by pressing the right arrow when it is highlighted.
  2. A list of existing folders will appear. Select the folder to rename by highlighting it with the up and down arrows.
  3. Press the right arrow. The letter selector will appear over the first letter.
  4. Use the up and down arrows to select the appropriate letter, number or space.
  5. Press the right arrow to move on to the next letter.
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until you have your name set the way you want it.
  7. When you are on the fifth letter and have completed your name, press the right arrow to save your new folder name.

To delete a folder:

  1. Select "Delete" from the folders menu, by pressing the right arrow when it is highlighted.
  2. A list of existing folders will appear. Select the folder to delete by highlighting it with the up and down arrows.
  3. Press the right arrow. A confirmation dialog box will appear, asking "Deleting Folder?" with the selected folder name above it.
  4. Below the dialog box is a Yes/No selection. If you are absolutely certain you want to delete this folder and the images in it, highlight Yes and press the right arrow.

If the selected folder contains any hidden or protected images, only any visible and unprotected images will be deleted using this method. The folder itself will not be deleted.

The default "Nikon" folder cannot be deleted.

Selecting folders:

Once multiple folders (besides the default "Nikon" folder) are created, you can easily change between them.

  1. Enter the Folders menu.
  2. Under "Options," your folders will be listed. Highlight the folder you wish to use.
  3. Press the right arrow.
  4. The selected folder name will be shown in the upper left corner of the monitor. Any images you take will now be saved in that folder.

USING THE CARD READER

When you insert a card in reader, it will appear on the computer as a "drive" and allow you to access the images just as if they were saved on a disk.

To use the card reader:

  1. Align the card with the reader's slot, with the "lip" facing down.
  2. Typically, an explorer window will pop up, like the one shown at right.
  3. If an explorer window does not pop up automatically, you can still access the images. If you want to access them directly through a program such as Photoshop, simply open or import the file by browsing for it. You can also search out your files using My Computer or Windows Explorer.

You can easily move, copy and manage your image files as you would with any other saved computer files. Unless you are using your own card, you may want to transfer your images to another disk, CD, or DVD. This will ensure that your images are not accidentally overwritten by other users.

FOR MORE INFORMATION