UW-Fox Valley Logo

UWFox Hosts 2013 Commencement Ceremony

[This page is preserved for historical and reference purposes only.  The information contained on it may no longer be current.]

On Tuesday, May 21, at 7:00 p.m., the University of Wisconsin-Fox Valley is celebrating it 39th annual commencement ceremony in the campus’ Fieldhouse.  UWFox Campus Executive Officer and Dean, Dr. Martin Rudd, is expected to host an audience of more than 600 family members, guests, dignitaries, faculty, staff and graduates for this ceremony.  

University of Wisconsin Colleges and UW-Extension Mr. Raymond Cross, Ph.D., is this year’s commencement speaker. Cross has been the Chancellor of the 13 UW Colleges and UW-Extension since February, 2011. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Ferris State University, his master’s degree from Central Michigan University, and his Ph.D. from Michigan State University.  He is past president of Morrisville State College in New York; past president of Northwest Technical College in Minnesota; and was a professor at Ferris State. UW Colleges Chancellor Raymond Cross

He worked in the private sector for a number of years as a design engineer, was a small business owner and consultant to business, industry and government. He is a decorated U.S. Army veteran who earned four medals while serving in Vietnam. 

The 2013 UWFox commencement ceremony has several very special aspects as part of the program. The UWFox/UW-Platteville collaborative engineering program will recognize eight of 10 students who have earned the Bachelor of Science Degree in Mechanical Engineering. The eight will receive their degree, as well as the “Order of the Engineer” ring, from UW-Platteville faculty and staff who will be in attendance at the ceremony. 

The students who will be receiving their B.S.M.E. include and will be participating in the ceremony include:

  • Kelly Beschta (Black Creek),
  • Brandon Begrow (Larsen),
  • Josiah Lusk (Greenville),
  • Luke Mitchell (Fremont),
  • Jennifer Riemer (Hortonville),
  • Michael Smith (Neenah),
  • Jason Venne (Fond du Lac),
  • Derek Wolf (Oshkosh).

Other students who have earned the B.S.M.E. and will not be participating in the UWFox ceremony are Nicholas Erdmann (Appleton) and Kevin Spatchek ((Brillion).

UWFox has recognized 221 students who have qualified for the Associate of Arts and Science Degree, including those who completed their requirements at the end of the fall 2012 semester. Approximately 100 of the qualifying students are expected to robe and participate in the 2013 commencement ceremony.

Of the 221 students who have qualified for the A.A.S. degree,

  • Two students have earned “Highest Honors,” with a 4.0 grade point average;
  • 16 have qualified for “High Honors,” with a 3.75-3.99 GPA;
  • 22 have qualified for “Honors,” with a 3.50-3.74 GPA;
  • 14 have qualified for Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor academic society for two-year campuses that require at least a 3.5 GPA to qualify for membership.

One of the highlights of the ceremony will be the presentation of the 2013 “Outstanding Alumni Awards” by the UW-Fox Valley Foundation, Inc.  This year, the honors go Stephen T. O’Hearn and Mr. Martin Jack Rosenblum, Ph.D. 

O’Hearn attended UWFox from 1978-1980, earning his A.A.S. degree and transferring to the University of Notre Dame where he received his B.B.A. in 1982. He has spent his entire professional career with PricewaterhouseCoopers. In 1994 he earned “Partner” status is and presently lives in Zurich, Switzerland where he serves as Leader of PricewaterhouseCoopers Insurance Practice in Europe, the Middle East and Africa, supervising 3,000 staff members.

Rosenblum attended UWFox from 1964-1966, and went on to earn his B.S. in English from UW-Madison in 1969. He attended graduate school at UW-Milwaukee, where he received his M.A. in English in 1971 and his Ph.D. in English in 1980.  We served UW-Milwaukee in various  faculty and administrative roles for nearly 30 years. He is a published author and poet, a Harley-Davidson enthusiast and former Historian for the iconic motorcycle corporation. He is also an award winning musician and rock music historian.  He is presently a Senior Lecturer in the Peck School of the Arts/Music Department at UW-Milwaukee.

The Fox Valley Concert Band, under the direction of Dr. Marc Sackman, UWFox associate professor of music, will provide music before, during and after the ceremony.

2013 marks the 80th anniversary year of the UWFox campus, and the 39th commencement ceremony in the campus’ history.

For information about the 2013 UWFox commencement ceremony, contact Dave Hager, director of University Relations, 920-832-2611 or email david.hager@uwc.edu.

posted 5/20/2013