UW-Fox Valley Logo

Kaplan Award

[This page is preserved for historical and reference purposes only.  The information contained on it may no longer be current.]

The University of Wisconsin-Fox Valley has announced that three members of its faculty and staff have been awarded the UW Colleges prestigious Arthur M. Kaplan Award for the current academic year.

This year's award recipients at UWFox are:

  • Patricia Ross, Student Services Advisor
  • Darren DeFrain, Assistant Professor of English
  • Paula Lovell, Lecturer in Communications Arts.

According to Bill Messner, Chancellor of the UW Colleges, "The Arthur M. Kaplan Award program was established to recognize the outstanding contributions made to education by UW Colleges faculty and academic staff. It recognizes the very positive spirit that Provost / Vice Chancellor Emeritus Arthur M. Kaplan contributed to the enhancement of education in the UW Colleges."

Each of the 13 individual campuses around the state that collectively make up the UW Colleges claims its own Kaplan Award winner(s).

The award, begun in 1993, is a grant provided to the individual and the campus that is to be used for professional development or necessary supplies and equipment. In some cases, individual campus foundations match institutional funds.