UW-Fox Valley Logo

UWFox Announces 'Kaplan Award' Winners for 2008

[This page is preserved for historical and reference purposes only.  The information contained on it may no longer be current.]  

Menasha, WI -- The University of Wisconsin-Fox Valley has announced that five members of its faculty have been awarded the UW Colleges prestigious Arthur M. Kaplan Award.  The recipients are Dr. Tammy J. Ladwig, Andrea Butler, Dr. Jamie Douglas, Joy Perry, and Kristin Runge.

Tammy Ladwig

Ladwig, assistant professor of education, was named an award winner for her implementation and stewardship of the “Alternative Careers in Teaching” (act!) program, especially given the individual guidance that she provides to the 60 students currently in the program. The nominating committee said, “Most impressive, however, is Dr. Ladwig’s successful grant application to the National Science Foundation [NSF] to secure funds in the amount of $599,817 for students in act! to help them defray the cost of student teaching.”  Additionally, Ladwig was commended for “designing creative assignments for students by, for example, asking them to write curriculum as part of their work in the community with entities such as the Mosquito Hill Nature Center and the Paper Discovery Center.”  The nominating committee noted that “Ladwig has served the students and staff of the UW Colleges, as well as the [Fox Cities] community at large, in many ways, sharing her creative and caring touch. Her commitment to train our future educators will have an impact on generations to come.”

Andrea Bulter
Butler, lecturer in business and economics, was cited for her “long-standing and effective commitment to innovations in instructional technology.” According to the nominating committee, “she employs new technologies in the two Accelerated Learning Program courses she has designed, Business Management Information Systems and Introduction to eCommerce.”  The new technologies she has brought to the courses include CourseCasts, Flash movies to provide online tutorials, and Wikis. “Ms. Butler’s expertise with this last technology has led her to participate in a pilot program that seeks to help instructors across the UW Colleges integrate Wikis into their curriculum,” the nominating committee said. “Butler has been pioneering and highly cooperative in bringing valuable innovation to UW Fox Valley and to the UW Colleges.”

Jamie DouglasJoy PerryKirstin Runge

Douglas, Perry, and Runge (Pictured left to right above) collectively designed and taught a unique three-credit course called, ”Fox in the Woods,” which brought to students an abundant amount of learning outside the classroom. The nominating committee noted that, “For example, as part of the course, students spent time on a weekend retreat at the Appleton YMCA’s Camp Nan-a-bo-sho. There the course’s focus on the environment was enhanced by team-building activities, guest speakers, and discussion around the campfire on, among other topics, a common reading.” The reading used was Bill Bryson’s outdoor experience narrative titled, “A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail.”  The course that the three colleagues designed was described as “one of the most innovative in our campus history, [a] course . . . successful with students, [that has been] recognized by an NSF funding award.”

Douglas is a lecturer in geology and geography; Perry is a lecturer in biological sciences; and Runge is a lecturer in business/economics and communication arts.

The Arthur M. Kaplan Award program was established to recognize the outstanding contributions made to education by UW Colleges faculty and academic staff.  It recognizes the very positive spirit that Provost / Vice Chancellor Emeritus Arthur M. Kaplan contributed to the enhancement of education in the UW Colleges.

Each of the 13 individual campuses around the state that collectively make up the UW Colleges claims its own Kaplan Award winner(s).  The award, begun in 1993, is a grant provided to the individual and the campus that is to be used for professional development or necessary supplies and equipment. In some cases, individual campus foundations match institutional funds. 

For more information about the UWFox Kaplan Award and the 2008 recipients, contact Dave Hager, director of University Relations, 920-832-2611 or email david.hager@uwc.edu.


Posted 12/19/2008